Green Day have announced their new album 'Revolution Radio' will be released on October 7.

Green Day

Green Day

The American punk rock band released the lead single 'Bang Bang' on Thursday (11.08.16) and frontman Billie Joe Armstrong has now revealed the track is about the mass shootings in the US.

Asked what inspired the song, he said: "It's about the culture of mass shootings that happen in America, mixed with narcissistic social media. There's this rage happening, but it's also now being filmed, and we all have ourselves under surveillance. To me, that's so twisted."

'Revolution Radio' is the 'American Idiot' hitmakers' first album since 'Uno!', 'Dos!' and 'Tre!', which were released in 2012.

Their eagerly-anticipated 12th studio LP also features the song 'Still Breathing', which is a reflection of the 44-year-old singer's stint in rehab for prescription drug addiction in 2012.

Billie - who is joined by bassist Mike Dirnt, drummer Tré Cool and lead guitarist Jason White in the group - told Rolling Stone magazine: "I'd rather write something where my eyes are forward, rather than internal. I hope it makes people happy and makes a difference in some way, by people recognising themselves in the song."

Billie also teased that they will be announcing tour dates in support of the record "pretty soon" and he can't wait to get on the road again.

Asked if he's looking forward to playing the new songs live, he said: "Yeah. We're probably going to be announcing dates pretty soon. We've been in the garage hammering them out, and it sounds great. Jason White, Jason Freese and Jeff Matika are back with us, and we've got the gang back together."

'Revolution Radio' tracklist:

1.'Somewhere Now'

2.'Bang Bang'

3.'Revolution Radio'

4.'Say Goodbye'


6.'Bouncing Off the Wall'

7.'Still Breathing'


'9.Too Dumb to Die'

10.'Troubled Times'

11.'Forever Now'

12.'Ordinary World'