Kacey Musgraves

Kacey Musgraves

Kacey Musgraves will lead the way at the 2013 Country Music Association (CMA) Awards after landing five nominations.

The star has received nods for Female Vocalist, New Artist, and Album of the Year for Same Trailer Different Park, and her track Merry Go 'Round is on the shortlist for Song of the Year and Single of the Year.

Taylor Swift is in with a chance of winning Entertainer of the Year after she was announced as a contender alongside Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, George Strait and Blake Shelton.

She will also compete for the Female Vocalist award with Musgraves, Kelly Clarkson, Miranda Lambert, and Carrie Underwood, and for Album of the Year for Red, alongside Blake Shelton (Based on a True Story), Carrie Underwood (Blown Away), Musgraves (Same Trailer Different Park), and Little Big Town (Tornado).

Shelton leads the Male Vocalist category with Aldean and Bryan, as well as Eric Church and Keith Urban.

Other categories announced by Sheryl Crow and country duo Florida Georgia Line on Tuesday (10Sep13) included Vocal Duo of the Year, which will be a fight between Big and Rich, Love and Theft, Sugarland, The Civil Wars and Thompson Square.

The announcers, Florida Georgia Line, will also compete in the category, while the New Artist prize will be a fight between Lee Brice, Brett Eldredge, Florida Georgia Line, Kip Moore and Musgraves.

The Country Music Association Awards will take place in Nashville, Tennessee on 6 November (13).

The full list of nominations is as follows Entertainer of the Year Jason Aldean Luke Bryan Blake Shelton George Strait Taylor Swift Female Vocalist of the Year Kelly Clarkson Miranda Lambert Kacey Musgraves Taylor Swift Carrie Underwood Male Vocalist of the Year Jason Aldean Luke Bryan Eric Church Blake Shelton Keith Urban Album of the Year Based on a True Story - Blake Shelton Blown Away - Carrie Underwood Red - Taylor Swift Same Trailer Different Park - Kacey Musgraves Tornado - Little Big Town Song of the Year I Drive Your Truck - Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, and Jimmy Yeary Mama's Broken Heart - Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, and Kacey Musgraves Merry Go 'Round - Kacey Musgraves, Josh Osborne, and Shane McAnally Pontoon - Natalie Hemby, Luke Laird, and Barry Dean Wagon Wheel - Bob Dylan and Ketch Secor Duo of the Year Big and Rich Florida Georgia Line Sugarland Love and Theft The Civil Wars Thompson Square New Artist of the Year Lee Brice Brett Eldgredge Florida Georgia Line Kip Moore Kacey Musgraves Vocal Group of the Year Eli Young Band Lady Antebellum Little Big Town The Band Perry Zac Brown Band Single of the Year Cruise - Florida Georgia Line Highway Don't Care - Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban Mama's Broken Heart - Miranda Lambert Merry Go 'Round - Kacey Musgraves Wagon Wheel - Darius Rucker Musician of the Year Sam Bush (Mandolin) Paul Franklin (Steel Guitar) Dann Huff (Guitar) Brent Mason (Guitar) Mac McAnally (Guitar) Musical Event of the Year Boys 'Round Here - Blake Shelton (featuring Pistol Annies) Cruise - Florida Georgia Line (with Nelly) Don't Rush - Kelly Clarkson (featuring Vince Gill) Highway Don't Care - Tim McGraw (with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban) The Only Way I Know - Jason Aldean with Luke Bryan and Eric Church Music Video of the Year Blown Away - Carrie Underwood Boys 'Round Here - Blake Shelton featuring Pistol Annies Downtown - Lady Antebellum Highway Don't Care - Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban Mama's Broken Heart - Miranda Lambert Tornado - Little Big Town.