Hot Chip return with 'Over n Over' on February 27th on EMI, the bruising first single to be taken from their forthcoming and highly anticipated new album 'The Warning' which is set to follow in May. 'Over n Over is perhaps Hot Chip's most immediate and monstrous single to date, delivering a sly dig to those who heard them as too 'chilled out' first time round.The combination of Joe's lolloping and infectious beat and Alexis's delivery of lyrics; "Laid back? We'll give you laid back!", this wry sardonic repose offers both an indication as to their immaculately layered pop voyeurism, whilst simultaneously driving the point home with the remorseless, relentless repetition we know and love.Hot Chip follow their triumphant recent support dates with Mylo, LCD Soundsystem and their own sold-out headline shows with a series of dates throughout February as special guests to Goldfrapp, before heading across the pond for a month in America including stints at SXSW and Miami WMC, where as we speak Hot Chip fever is spreading like wildfire - The band even feature on the cover of the new issue of US dance bible XLR8R magazine. Currently one of the UK's edgiest and best live experiences - these shows should not be missed under any circumstances.

Goldfrapp Support Dates As Follows:

  • 1/2 Cardiff University
  • 2/2 Southampton Guildhall
  • 4/2 Cambridge Corn Exchange
  • 5/2 Reading Hexagon
  • 9/2 Brixton Academy
  • 10/2 Brixton Academy
  • 18/2 Manchester Apollo
  • 21/2 Liverpool University
  • 23/2 Sheffield Octagon
  • 24/2 Birmingham Academy
  • 26/2 Belfast Ulster Hall
  • 27/2 Dublin Olympia

Hot Chip emerged in Jan 2004 with their debut single 'Down With Prince', described by the NME as 'a lo-fi fry-up of slap-bass, wiggly electronics and stop-start drum loops...the glorious sound of a band treading brave new ground', and was followed by the bands debut album 'Coming On Strong' - a critically acclaimed triumph that punctuated their arrival as one of the UK's finest new acts. Having signed to EMI Records earlier this year, their magnificent second album 'The Warning' is now complete and its release imminent. It is a bold statement of intent that will show people the true nature of Hot Chip, and allow them to rightfully assume their position in the spotlight they deserve.

Over & Over is released on February 27th with mixes from Justus Kohncke / Naum Gabo. Brand new tracks will also appear on the commercial CD, 7" and 12" versions.

Hot Chip are: Alexis Taylor, Joe Goddard, Al Doyle, Owen Clarke and Felix Martin

tagged in