Eoin Morgan said he understood why the third umpire felt that Jason Roy grounded a crucial catch in England's T20 defeat to Australia.

Morgan understands third umpire call

Morgan understands third umpire call

The tourists' captain was left disappointed when Roy appeared to claim a low catch to dismiss Glenn Maxwell after he miscued the ball into the deep off Adil Rashid during the T20 Tri-Series clash in Hobart on Wednesday.

The umpires on the field gave it out but offered a 'soft signal' which allowed their decision to be reviewed by the third umpire with the benefit of TV replays.

They subsequently overruled the decision as they felt Roy grounded the ball in making the catch which resulted in a reprieve for Maxwell, who was on 59 at the time.

The batsman went on to smash an unbeaten 103 as Australia claimed a five-wicket win to make it two successive victories in the series.

The watching former Australia captain Michael Clarke and ex-England all-rounder Paul Collingwood both felt Roy made a clean catch, but Morgan refused to be critical.

He said: 'We all know TV makes it look worse than it is.

'I trust (Roy's) call and I agreed with the (on-field) umpire's call. But I can understand how it got overturned.

'I don't know how (to improve the system), I don't have a solution. If there's no right answer to something you can't correct it. I'm all for reviewing but there's no solution to it yet.'