Lewis Hamilton secured pole position for the Bahrain Grand Prix ahead of Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg.

Hamilton lands Bahrain pole

Hamilton lands Bahrain pole

Hamilton secured a second successive pole position but left it late to edge out Rosberg, who won the season opener in Australia.

Ferrari duo Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen start from third and fourth respectively ahead of Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo.

Williams duo Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa start from sixth and seventh respectively, with Nico Hulkenburg of Force India, Haas' Romain Grosjean and Toro Rosso driver Max Verstappen completing the top 10.

McLaren reserve driver Stoffel Vandoorne, who has stepped in for the injured Fernando Alonso, managed to out-qualify team-mate Jenson Button on his Formula 1 debut with 12th place.

Button starts from 14th after the former world champion complained of handling issues on his final lap although the British star did congratulate Vandoorne on his qualifying performance.