Jessica Ennis

Jessica Ennis

Jessica Ennis, Phillips Idowu and Mo Farah will go to the world championships in Daegu as three of the favourites for a gold medal.

The Great Britain team for this summer's world championships has been named and it's once again a mixture of young talent and seasoned veterans.

Dwain Chambers leads the charge in the 100m as the British #1 with Marlon Devonish and Harry Aikines-Aryeetey also selected.

There is no place in the 100m for Mark Lewis Francis after a false start at the UK trails a fortnight ago - he has been selected in the 4x100, team.

Christian Malcolm, who has been named captain, and James Ellington will run the 200m while Martyn Rooney will be the only representative in the 400m.

Idowu has been in good form so far this season and will be looking to defend his world title while Chris Tomlinson and Greg Rutherford will once again go head to head in what promises to be an exiting long jump competition.

Mo Farah has set the track alight in the long distance races so far this season and has been named in both the 5,000m and 10,000m - he will decide on the whether he will run in the 5,000m after contesting the 10,000m.

And Dai Greene has gone head to head with the best of the world in the 400m hurdles so far this year and a medal is a strong possibility as he looks to build on his success from the Europeans last year.

Jeanette Kwakye showed at the UK trials that she is in great shape and she will go into the 100m as a possibility to make the final.

Tiffany Porter will go over 100m hurdles as she will compete in a British vest for the very first time.

Goldie Sayers has found her form in the javelin after undergoing earlier this year and she is a possibility for a medal.

But the favourite to being home gold on the women's side is Jessica Ennis, who will be joined in the heptathlon by Commonwealth champion Louise Hazel.


100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, Marlon Devonish

200m: James Ellington, Christian Malcolm

400m: Martyn Rooney

800m: Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer

1500m: James Shane

5,000m: Mo Farah

10,000m: Mo Farah

110m hurdles: Lawrence Clarke, William Sharman, Andy Turner

400mH: Jack Green, Dai Greene, Nathan Woodward

High jump: Martyn Bernard, Tom Parsons

Pole vault: Steve Lewis

Long jump: Greg Rutherford, Chris Tomlinson

Triple jump: Phillips Idowu

Discus: Abdul Buhari, Brett Morse, Carl Myerscough

4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey, Devonish, James Ellington, Mark Lewis-Francis, Christian Malcolm, Craig Pickering, Danny Talbot

4x400m: Richard Buck, Chris Clarke, Jack Green, Greene, Luke Lennon Ford, Nigel Levine, Martyn Rooney, Richard Strachan

Marathon: Andrew Lemoncello, Lee Merrien, Dave Webb


100m: Jeanette Kwakye, Anyika Onuora, Laura Turner

200m: Anyika Onuora

400m: Lee McConnell, Christine Ohuruogu, Nicola Sanders

800m: Emma Jackson, Jenny Meadows, Marilyn Okoro

1500m: Lisa Dobriskey, Hannah England

5,000m: Helen Clitheroe

3,000m steeplechase: Barbara Parker

100mH: Tiffany Porter

400mH: Eilidh Child, Perri Shakes-Drayton

Pole vault: Holly Bleasdale, Kate Dennison

Long jump: Shara Proctor

Triple jump: Yamile Aldama

Javelin: Goldie Sayers

Hammer: Sophie Hitchon

Heptathlon: Jessica Ennis, Louise Hazel

20km walk: Jo Jackson

4x100m: Montell Douglas, Jeanette Kwakye, Onuora, Abi Oyepitan, Asha Philip, Porter, Laura Turner

4x400m: Eilidh Child, Lee McConnell, Jenny Meadows, Christine Ohuruogu, Marilyn Okoro, Nadine Okyere, Nicola Sanders, Perri Shakes-Drayton

Marathon: Alyson Dixon, Susan Partridge


by for
find me on and follow me on