The Crusaders forward came on for his club team-mate after Crockett sustained a groin injury in the 25th minute of their comfortable 62-13 victory over France last weekend.

Moody comes in for All Blacks

Moody comes in for All Blacks

Moody has now retained his place in coach Steve Hansen's side with fellow prop Ben Franks earning a place on the bench in an otherwise unchanged All Blacks starting line-up.

New Zealand are looking to become the first side to successfully defend their World Cup crown, but they have a poor record against the Springboks in the competition with their only victory coming in a quarter-final clash 12 years ago.

Overall the All Blacks have won 52 of the 91 Test meetings between the two sides, but Hansen believes the past meetings will count for nothing during the crunch match at Twickenham on Saturday.

He said: "Though we've met many times over the years, we've only played three times at the Rugby World Cup and these Cup finals matches are totally different. They have a live or die nature to them and both teams will be desperate to advance."

The 56-year-old admits his side are excited at the prospect of taking on the Springboks and he knows they must be on the top of their game if they are to progress to their second consecutive final.

He continued: "As a group we're really looking forward to this challenge. It will require a massive amount of intensity and composure and accurate skill execution. This team has high expectations of itself and enjoys the big occasions."

South Africa and New Zealand's fierce rivalry - RWC Daily

Previous results:

2015: New Zealand won 27-20 in Johannesburg

2014: South Africa won 27-25 in Johannesburg

2014: New Zealand won 10-14 in Wellington

2013: New Zealand won 38-27 in Johannesburg

2013: New Zealand won 29-15 in Auckland

2012: New Zealand won 32-16 in Johannesburg

2012: New Zealand won 21-11 in Dunedin

2011: South Africa won 18-5 in Port Elizabeth

2011: New Zealand won 40-7 in Wellington

2003 (RWC): New Zealand won 29-9 in Melbourne

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Fourie du Preez (c), 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Victor Matfield, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein.

New Zealand: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody.

Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Sonny Bill Williams.

Date: Saturday, October 24

Venue: Twickenham, London

Kick-off: 16:00 local (15:00 GMT)

Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)

Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Johnny Lacey (Ireland)

TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)