WhatsApp is allowing people to delete messages up to an hour.

WhatsApp deleting development

WhatsApp deleting development

The app currently allows users to recall and delete messages for up to seven minutes after they have been sent but now the app is looking to extend that time frame to just over an hour, the Mail Online reported.

The new feature is currently being test on Android phones and it's unclear when it will be rolled out across other platform.

Last year, WhatsApp launched the option to delete messages and it was well-received and on their website, it explains how to delete a message.

It reads: "Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat.

"This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake."

Despite being well-received by users, the company found that the initial time slot of seven minutes wasn't long enough for some of their customers.

As a result, the original time allocation has been broadened to 4,096 seconds - or 68 minutes and 16 seconds.

WABetaInfo say that this feature will work for all messages including GIFs, files, locations and videos.

WhatsApp is also trialling stickers in iOS and, similar to Snapchat, users can now tag a location.

It is also looking to develop the capability to forward messages from one chat into another one directly.